Camogie Juniors End Unbeaten Year As Div.3 Champions

(05 Nov 2019)

Camogie Juniors End Unbeaten Year As Div.3 Champions

Castleknock 3-11 St. Brigid’s 0-7

Castleknock ‘B’ Camogie team completed a famous treble of League, Cup and Championship with a classy 14-point victory over St. Brigid’s in the Div.3 Championship Final in Abbotstown this evening (Nov.5).

The foundations of success were laid in the first 20 minutes by which stage Castleknock led by 1-7 0-1. Eimear Stynes kicked the opening point on three minutes and less than a minute later the elusive Aisling O’Neill struck the game’s opening goal.

In the next 15 minutes the flying Aisling O’Neill scored another three points added to by further points from Sophie Browne from a 45’, Kerrie Redmond and Eimear Stynes again. Aisling O’Neill brought her total to 1-5 before the break by which stage Castleknock led by an impressive 1-9 0-3.

A somewhat sluggish Castleknock start to the second-half saw Ebha Mooney bring off two great saves before the score that effectively decided the game when a Mollie Turner free was whipped to the St. Brigid’s net by Eimear Stynes.

Sophie Browne who was majestic in defence then tagged on two fine long-distance points from frees before Mollie Turner’s dropping shot went all the way to the St. Brigid’s net.

An improved second-half performance from St. Brigid’s produced four Mia Murray points but it was never likely to be enough against a tenacious and well-organised Castleknock defence.

What made this win all the more notable is the fact that this Castleknock team has now gone from January to November unbeaten – a remarkable achievement for any team

Team Captain Dearbhla Lennon received the Div.3 Championship Cup from Brendan Cooper of the Dublin Camogie County Board.

The win brings to an end a wonderful year for Castleknock Camogie – Intermediate Champions, U-16 Champions and now Div.3 Champions. A year to be proud of, for everyone connected.

Castleknock: Ebha Mooney; Dearbhla Lennon; Niamh Maher; Sarah Rafferty; Lucy Garry; Sophie Browne (0-3); Caoimhe Slevin; Lucy Quinn; Emma McMenamin; Kerrie Redmond (0-1); Aisling Kenny; Laura Keane; Aisling O’Neill (1-5); Eimear Stynes (1-2); Ciara Moynihan. Subs: Molly Turner (1-0); Caoimhe Dwyer; Megan Jordan; Georgina Duffy; Hannah Bourke. Panel: Siobhan Roche (injured); Katy Prunty (injured); Aoife Bergin; Emma Strappe; Ellen Baker.

Managers: Stephen Rafferty; Fergal Quinn.
Report: Kevin Mallon

Castleknock Abú

Club Sponsors - please support



sponsor cu


To advertise here contact or 0877532030

Search - Use spaces to separate your keywords