Minor ‘A’ Footballers Record Big Win

(19 Jul 2020)

Castleknock 4-12 Na Fianna 1-7
In a much more competitive game than the score-line suggests, it took a nine-minute second-half
purple patch during which Castleknock scored 3-3, to give the home team a surprisingly comfortable 14-point victory over Na Fianna in Round 1 of the Minor ‘A’ Football Championship in perfect conditions in Somerton this morning (July 19).

Between them, the full-forward line of Reuben Cahill, Conor Murray and Daniel Murphy scored a
dazzling 4-11 and while Jordan Dargan Akiwumi didn’t get on the scoresheet his constant movement and spirit epitomised Castleknock’s much improved second-half performance.

Even though the sides were level at 1-4 apiece at half-time, that score certainly didn’t reflect the
amount of possession and chances Castleknock had in those opening 30 minutes.
A Reuben Cahill goal on 3 minutes after a classy build-up got Castleknock off to a good start but even though Conor Murray and the equally hard-working Daniel Murphy added points, Na Fianna gave as good as they got.

Twenty-one minutes into the half the Castleknock backs can feel themseves unlucky to give away a penalty for what was adjudged to be a foot block and goalkeeper Cian Sheerin who had earlier come off his line to make a vital clearance was given no chance from the spot kick. It then took two Conor Murray points to draw Castleknock level at the interval, 1-4 each.

In the second-half with Na Fianna tiring, Castleknock got to grips with the visitors midfield and
forward-lines, significantly upping their work-rate and support play. Between the 9th and 18th minutes of the half Castleknock tore the Na Fianna defence to shreds.

Conor Murray began it all by blasting to the Na Fianna net after much hard work by Jordan Dargan. The entire full-forward line then contributed points before Daniel Murphy brought the biggest cheer of the morning when he drilled a ground shot into the top left-hand corner of the visitors net for a truly memorable goal.

A second Reuben Cahill goal 4 minutes later sealed victory finished off by an excellent Rian Buckley point with his first touch after being introduced as a substitute. In the real heat of battle the team’s fitness and skill levels were a delight to behold and both augur well for another good championship run.

Castleknock: Cian Sheerin; Mikey Bohan; Rob O’Shea; Cathal Flynn; Ben Harding; Senan Forker; Alex Watson; Fionn Gibbons; Luke Swan; Jordan Dargan Akiwumi; Mark Connellan; Evan McSherry; Reuben Cahill (2-3)(3 fisted points); Conor Murray (1-5); Daniel Murphy (1-3). Subs used: Rian Buckley (0-1); Darragh O’Connell.

No luck however for the other Minor Football teams this morning:

Minor ‘C’ Football Championship: Castleknock 1-9 Ballyboden 1-14
Minor ‘E’ Football Championship: Castleknock 2-9 Templeogue Synge Street 5-10.

Club Sponsors - please support


To advertise here contact pro@castleknock.net or 0877532030

Search - Use spaces to separate your keywords