Spirited Minor Hurlers Lose ‘D’ Final To Naomh Fionnbarra

(28 Oct 2019)

Spirited Minor Hurlers Lose ‘D’ Final To Naomh Fionnbarra

Castleknock 0-5 Naomh Fionnbarra 4-14

In spite of a spirited first-half display, Castleknock had no answer to a barrage of Naomh Foinnbarra third-quarter goals in this Minor Hurling Championship ‘D’ Final on the Blakestown Road this afternoon (Oct.28).

Despite the fact that Naomh Fionnbarra went three points up in the first ten minutes Castleknock battled back well and it was virtually score about from then until half-time when Naomh Fionnbarra led by 0-6 0-4.

Cillian Slater was responsible for getting Castleknock off the mark after 11 minutes and when Darragh O’Connell ended a great run with another point five minutes later Castleknock looked well capable of pushing Finbarrs all the way.

Darragh O’Connell added a third point from a well won Conor Cryan free from out near the sideline and after Shane Hogan had made a terrific goal-line stop, Cian McFadden brought Castleknock’s total to four almost on the blow of half-time.

Wind assisted Finbarrs then took over. In spite of the best efforts of Elliott O’Neill, Shane Hogan and Michael Ryan in defence and Darragh O’Connell in midfield, in a blistering ten-minute spell Finbarrs scored four goals and two points to put the game beyond Castleknock’s reach by the end of the third-quarter.

A Cian McFadden pointed free was all Castleknock had to show for their efforts in that second-half, with Finbarrs confident forwards adding another six points to their total before the end to give them a well deserved victory.

Even when defeat was inevitable the Castleknock players never gave up and all those associated with the team are proud of the lads efforts throughout what has been a generally successful year.

Castleknock: Cillian Fitzmaurice; Elliott O’Neill; Shane Hogan; David Jollie; Eoghan Kearney; Rohan Tyrell; Daniel O’Leary; Cillian Slater (0-1); Darragh O’Connell (02); Dylan O’Keeffe; Cian McFadden (0-2); Tommy Igoe; Michael Heverin; Michael Ryan; Conor Cryan. Subs: Ashraf Dafilla; Aaron Kavanagh. Panel: Cahir O’Donnell; P.J. Campbell; Tom O’Shea; Emmet Kehoe.

Mentors: John Kilkenny; John Clynes.
Report: Kevin Mallon

Castleknock Abú


Club Sponsors - please support







To advertise here contact pro@castleknock.net or 0877532030

Search - Use spaces to separate your keywords